Sunday long

one more for the useless runs in marathon training

Trading LA Marathon for a sunday long in the superwind but hometown.

So, as said before I go and run, have a plan in mind usually but life interrupts. Usually. Two weeks to half, three weeks to another half and a month until my first M of the year makes me nervous, and I kinda have the plan – how I should be preparing for it. Not in shape, winter I moved all runs to junk, it was really about how to survive my constant coldness but worked well as train on my willpower and out of comfortzone situations. When I made myself to go, because usually I skipped running. That resulted barely noticeable miles in the logbook and really noticable kilos on my body, all awaited on me for the spring. 

Spring that starts tommorrow.

However I’ve been running for a couple of weeks now. Squeezed in some speed work too, not enough though. Long runs I wish I did more, and better too. Seriously not satisfied.

Sunday long again happened as a disaster. Thursday I was so happy to finally run with the fasty and drunk, but it turned out he gets exhausted at 5:20 pace nowadays. Wasn’t the best experience, I planned a fast fun run. It was fun and finally we talked and talked and talked for an hour after, but running gave no justice, totally I was out of comfortzone but not because the power of the run, but the thought of not actually training for my goal I’m still up to with really no reality in it. But I still believe I can do it. So, after Thursday I keenly awaited on Sunday long with the bros, though they wanted to run less than me, but at least I believed pace could be decent.

Started as usual, the three of us against the uphill and the massive wind, praying for the red light by the pastry shop to get some air and rest a minute before the 15min elevation. We than supposed to meet the crew, plan was to go a loop with them, about 10k, run back, and if I can still go on I would run some more on the island, 20 if no island run but would loved to runa 25-ish. Plans are there to be changed. Cse was worried on the rain on the terrain from last night, so we went all some more uphill on the asphalt. Was glad, I had my epic-s on, not the best for trail. All of a sudden the photographer trailman showed up, I knew he would come because we had some serious talk the day before about using my image on some cityposters without my permission, was pretty pissed and I think he knew and wanted to make up for it. He came and suggested some alternative route. I knew it will be massive he always likes seriously challenging tracks even in the Budai Hills, but we thought he realized we were with kvazibarki crew so taking it easier. Not. Sunday long quickly turned into a hiking experience, Cse and me seriously going crazy on fvcking up our training. Would of been a great fun and such beautiful view, but my state of mind is somewhere else nowadays, and I just don’t want to go into characters anymore to make others feel happy and confident. Watch showed 26k by the end, but seriously I ran only about 15, the rest was cursing and mud challenging hiking.

I need my run and my self put into action. I cannot go and just run and I cannot act to please others by totally minimizing my own wills anymore. I’m giving up on being the listener and understanding. It’s my turn now, otherwise I will seriously regret my upcoming races. Which still can happen anyways, but not giving a chance will totally ruin any experience whatsoever.

There are some plans in my upcoming runs, but I rather keep it  to myself and run it myself. Socializing can come later. I’m in no talk mood anyways. 

I will after go and run the single tracks with the crazy guy, and enjoy the beauty of the nature and the calmness. But first, I rather do what I feel like doing. 

Leave a Reply

